Shade Tree Commission


  • 7:30 pm
  • Third Wednesday of each month
  • Municipal Building, Conference Room B
View the Shade Tree Commission's meeting calendar.


  • Paul Sayah, Chairperson
    Term expires: December 2017
  • Rhonda Fletcher, Secretary
    Term expires: December 2020
  • Glenn Cantor, Vice Chairperson
    Term expires: December 2019
  • Cathy McKee
    Term expires: December 2020
  •  Matthew McGowan
     Term expires: December 2021
  • Ronald Campos
    Term expires: December 2018
  • Charles Senders
    Term expires: December 2019
  • Carol Chandler, Alternate 1
    Term expires: December 2018
  • Richard Mertens, Alternate 2
    Term expires: December 2018

Member Requirements

  • Seven members with five year terms
  • Two alternate members with five year terms


The Township Council appoints members to the Shade Tree Commission. The chair is appointed amongst the members.


The commission shall have full and exclusive control over the regulation, planting, and care of shade and ornamental trees and shrubbery now located, or which may hereafter be planted in any public highway, park, or parkway, except such as are excluded pursuant to New Jersey Revised Statute Ad-4-1 in the Township of Howell, including the planting, trimming, spraying, care, and protection thereof.



  • O-91-21
  • O-96-38
  • O-04-20