Construction Code

Responsibilities


Issuance of construction permits and all related requirements as per UCC (plan reviews, inspections, etc.).

Online Permits and Online Inspection Requests

The Township is now offering online application submittal through the Spatial Data Logic (SDL) Portal.  You can login to an existing account or sign up for a new account at: https://www.sdlportal.com/.  Signing up for this service allows you to view limited information regarding properties within the Township including permit statuses.  

Instructions to submit for the following items:

  • Letters of No Interest (Open Permit Search). Instructions for submittal can be found here: Instructions
  • Construction Permit Inspections.  Instructions for submitting requests for inspections can be found here: Construction Inspection Online Submittal Instructions
    *   If you have any issues using the portal to schedule inspections, please contact us directly at (732) 938-4500 ext. 2310 to schedule over the phone (M-F, 8:30a-4:30p). Thank you.
  • Coming soon = online construction permit application submittal and review


Contact List

Main Phone Number: (732) 938-4500


Construction Official - Division Head

Todd Morgano
tmorgano@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2425

Building Subcode Official

Steve DeBrito
sdebrito@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2411

Building Inspectors

Harold B. VanArsdale
hvanarsdale@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2410

Keith Colombo
kcolombo@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2405

Electrical Subcode Official

Jean Verrier
jverrier@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2407

Electrical Inspector

James Kaiser
jkaiser@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2408

Plumbing Subcode Official

James G. Wulfekotte
jwolfekotte@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2412

Plumbing Inspector

Thomas Smith
tsmith@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2308

Fire Subcode Official

Robert H. Lewis
blewis@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2902

Fire Inspector

Brian Prochnow
bprochnow@twp.howell.nj.us
Ext. 2907

To schedule inspections, please call the main office phone number between the hours of 8:30 am and 12:00 pm. Inspections are performed between 9:00 am and 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

All callers must have the proper Permit Number ready in order for us to assist you. 

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the office.